Source document
Immigration Law (2006 Revision)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 11 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Cayman Immigration Law (2006 Revision), consolidating Law 34 of 2003 with Laws 13 of 2005 and 3 of 2006: boards, Caymanian status, permanent residence (8-year route), Residential Certificates for Retirees (s. 33-34) and for Entrepreneurs and Investors (s. 35-36), work permits, offences, deportation. Retirees' age 55, 25-year validity and 30-day presence recorded earlier; this pass added 7 rules: Retirees' no dependants under 16, survivor 3 months, children to 24; Entrepreneurs and Investors certificate 25 years, survivor 3 months, children to 24, 30 days in 365 (under a proposed programme cym-entrepreneur-investor-2004). Amounts are prescribed by regulations. Out of scope: other categories, fines, general permanent residence.
What it supports
6 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Rules and prices (6)
- Deadline for a surviving spouse or dependant to applysurviving spouse of a Retirees' certificate holder whose right is revoked may apply for a certificate3 monthsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2006Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Age below which no dependants are allowedRetirees' certificate applicant must have no dependants under 1616 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2006Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Maximum age of a dependent childdependent child of the holder of a Residential Certificate for Retirees: right ends at 24 or on completing full-time tertiary education, whichever is earlier24 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2006Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Residence permit validityResidential Certificate for Retirees, renewable at the Chief Immigration Officer's discretion25 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2006Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Required physical presenceholder of a Residential Certificate for Retirees (revocation ground)30 days per 365 daysDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2006Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Minimum ageapplicant for a Residential Certificate for Retirees (or lower at the Board's discretion); dropped by Law 35 of 200655 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2006Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
5 more rows from this document are in the source data but not on this site: numbers we would have had to work out ourselves, figures a later correction replaced, or programmes outside these datasets.
About the document
What it covers Consolidated text of the Immigration Law, 2003 (Law 34 of 2003, enacted 16 December 2003) with Laws 13 of 2005 and 3 of 2006: s. 33 Residential Certificate for Retirees (25 years, investment in real estate), s. 35 Residential Certificate for Entrepreneurs and Investors.
Notes Consolidation, not the original 2003 enactment; transitional provisions refer to 1 January 2004 as the changeover date from the earlier law.
Source id cym-imm-law-2006rev · accessed 10 Oct 2026