Source document
The Immigration (Transition) Bill, 2018
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Immigration (Transition) Bill 2018, 87 pp.: memorandum (WORC and Customs and Border Control from 1 Jan 2019; financial standing to be shown by declarations from licensed professionals for the investor certificates; business presence criteria to be revised); Parts on WORC, Boards, appeals (refusals of investor certificates appealable to the Caymanian Status and Permanent Residency Board), Caymanian status, permanent residence (s.37(12) annual declaration for s.41/42 holders), s.41-46 independent-means certificates (25 years, age 18, 30 days a year, quota gazetted by Cabinet, revocation), s.47-48 Certificate of Direct Investment (6-month approval in principle, 25 years, audited accounts in years 2 and 5, 90 days a year), s.50 business presence (same as 2012 Law), work permits and regulations (out of scope). The Bill sets no amounts (they are "prescribed"). Added: 5 terms and 1 event; event e-112d2118b5 already recorded. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
19 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Programmes (2)
Rules and prices (15)
- Maximum age of a dependent childdependent child of the holder (unless the certificate is varied for full-time tertiary education or special circumstances); same rule for the permanent certificate18 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Minimum ageapplicant18 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Residence permit validityResidency Certificate for Persons of Independent Means (no right to work); renewable at the discretion of the Chief Immigration Officer25 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Required physical presenceholder; failure is a ground for revocation30 days per yearDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
- Provisional permit or certificate validityApproval-in-Principle Certificate of Direct Investment, before the investment is made and licences obtained6 monthsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Certificate of Direct Investment
- Maximum age of a dependent childdependent child of the holder (unless the certificate is varied for full-time tertiary education or special circumstances)18 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Certificate of Direct Investment
- Residence permit validityCertificate of Direct Investment, renewable on application at the Director of WORC's discretion25 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Certificate of Direct Investment
- Required physical presenceholder (annual declaration; failure is a ground for revocation)90 days per yearDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Certificate of Direct Investment
- Maximum age of a dependent childdependent child of the holder (unless the certificate is varied for full-time tertiary education or special circumstances)18 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Permanent residence, independent means
- Time dependants may stay after the holder's deathdependent spouse after the holder's death or divorce (unless self-supporting or permitted to remain on another basis)1 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Substantial business presence residency
- Provisional permit or certificate validityApproval-in-Principle certificate for a proposed shareholder not yet meeting the shareholding or business presence requirements6 monthsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Substantial business presence residency
- Maximum age of a dependent childdependent child of the holder (right ends at the end of full-time tertiary education or at 24, whichever is earlier, unless special circumstances)24 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Substantial business presence residency
- Residence permit validityResidency Certificate (Substantial Business Presence); renewable at the discretion of the Chief Immigration Officer25 yearsDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Substantial business presence residency
- Required physical presenceholder (must be legally and ordinarily resident at least 90 days in each calendar year)90 days per yearDate not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Substantial business presence residency
- Minimum shareholding in the businessowner route (s.37D(1)(a)); alternative route is senior management employment (s.37D(1)(b))10%Date not stated · Cayman Gazette 2018Cayman Islands · Substantial business presence residency
Timeline (2)
- Cayman residency certificates move to a new government office1 Jan 2019LegalCayman Islands · Permanent residence, independent means
- Bill would let investor-residence holders prove financial standing through declarations by licensed professionals24 Oct 2018LegalCayman Islands · 25-year residency, independent means
About the document
What it covers Current statutory basis (as renumbered): s.41 residency certificate (25 years), s.42 permanent residence for persons of independent means with Cabinet quota, s.47 Certificate of Direct Investment; transfer to WORC from 1 January 2019.
Notes Bill as published; enacted as the Immigration (Transition) Law/Act 2018, now the 2022 Revision (legislation.gov.ky copy not retrieved).
Source id cym-parl-imm-transition-bill-2018 · accessed 2 Oct 2026