Source document
Aliens Act (Välismaalaste seadus), English translation, consolidated text in force 01.01.2026-21.05.2026
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Official English translation of the Estonian Aliens Act (consolidated, in force 1 Jan-21 May 2026; ~500 KB of text): visas incl. start-up visas, temporary stay, immigration quota (0.1% of population, exemptions incl. large investors), temporary residence permits (validity up to 5 years, extension up to 10 years) for family, study, employment, enterprise (§§ 191-197: EUR 65,000 in fixed assets or EUR 16,000 for sole proprietors, start-up and new-company exemptions, alternatives after one year of EUR 200,000 turnover or social tax on 5x average wage, refusal and revocation grounds) and large investors (§§ 197^2-197^8: EUR 1 million direct investment or fund, lasting investment, no dwelling requirement), permanent residence, EU long-term residence, removal, data processing, supervision. Investment thresholds already in the data; alternatives, validity, quota and two dated amendments added. Other permit types (employment, study, family, start-up employment, digital nomad) are out of scope. No statistics. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
11 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Programmes (1)
Rules and prices (7)
- Business investmentsole proprietor (temporary residence permit for enterprise)EUR 16,000Date not stated · Riigi Teataja 2026Estonia · Business residence permit
- Business investmentcompany shareholder (temporary residence permit for enterprise)EUR 65,000Date not stated · Riigi Teataja 2026Estonia · Business residence permit
- Business investmentlarge investor (direct investment in an Estonian company or fund)EUR 1,000,000Since 18 Jan 2017 · Riigi Teataja 2026Estonia · Business residence permit
- Residence permit validitytemporary residence permits (incl. for enterprise and for large investors): issued for up to five years; extension for up to ten years at a time5 years (maximum)Date not stated · Riigi Teataja 2026Estonia · Business residence permit
- Annual immigration quota, share of populationannual immigration quota; enterprise permits count towards it, large investors (§ 115(17)) and start-up related permits do not0.1 percent of permanent population per year (maximum)Date not stated · Riigi Teataja 2026Estonia · Business residence permit
- Alternative test: social tax paid for employeesenterprise permit holder, after one year and for extension: monthly social tax paid for employees at least equal to the social tax on remuneration of five times the Estonian annual average gross wage5 times the Estonian annual average gross wage (social tax base, monthly)Since 1 Jul 2012 · Riigi Teataja 2026Estonia · Business residence permit
- Alternative test: company sales revenueenterprise permit holder, after one year and for extension: company sales revenue instead of the EUR 65,000 holding condition200,000 EUR per yearSince 1 Jul 2012 · Riigi Teataja 2026Estonia · Business residence permit
Timeline (3)
- EUR 65,000 requirement waived for young companies backed by state or licensed private investors1 Jan 2026Rule changeEstonia · Business residence permit
- EUR 65,000 holding must be invested in fixed assets; large-investor direct investment defined1 Jul 2020Rule changeEstonia · Business residence permit
- Estonia adds a residence permit for large investors18 Jan 2017LaunchEstonia · Business residence permit
About the document
What it covers Temporary residence permit for enterprise (EUR 65,000 company / EUR 16,000 sole proprietor) and for large investors (EUR 1,000,000, since 18 Jan 2017)
Notes Official English translation (not legally binding); translation published 06.01.2026, of the version in force 1 Jan to 21 May 2026. Saved from the Riigi Teataja public API (blob-html of act 506012026003).
Source id est-rt-aliens-act-en-2026 · accessed 2 Oct 2026