Source document
Explanatory Memorandum to the Statement of Changes in Immigration Rules HC 1919 (7 March 2019)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Explanatory memorandum to HC 1919 (19 pp.). Investor parts paras 7.20-7.27: GBP 2m minimum; funds-holding period extended from 90 days to 2 years; bank due-diligence confirmation; UK government bonds excluded; FCA regulation of intermediary vehicles; 'active and trading' tightened; pooled investments with UK government funding allowed; transitional protection to 5 Apr 2023 (extensions) and 5 Apr 2025 (settlement); extension entry clearance period 2 years 4 months; refusal grounds extended; old transitional arrangements closed from 6 Apr 2020/2022. Took 2 rule rows (2-year funds rule, 2y4m extension grant); reform event already in the data. Other content (Start-up, Innovator, EU Settlement Scheme with its own application counts, Tier 2, stateless leave) is out of scope. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
5 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Rules and prices (4)
- Investment in shares or securitiesmain applicant (own money); settlement after 5 yearsGBP 2,000,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2019United Kingdom · Tier 1 (Investor) visa
- Time funds must be heldmain applicant: funds held for 2 years before applying (or evidence of source)2 years29 Mar 2019 – 17 Feb 2022 · UK Home Office 2019United Kingdom · Tier 1 (Investor) visa
- Entry clearance period on an extensionentry clearance granted on an extension application (2 years 4 months)2.33 yearsSince 29 Mar 2019 · UK Home Office 2019United Kingdom · Tier 1 (Investor) visa
- Time funds must be heldmain applicant: funds held for a consecutive 90-day period before applying (or evidence of source)90 daysDate not stated · UK Home Office 2019United Kingdom · Tier 1 (Investor) visa
About the document
What it covers Tier 1 (Investor) reforms from 29 March 2019: 2-year source-of-funds history, bank KYC confirmation, exclusion of UK government bonds, tighter rules on intermediary vehicles (paras 7.20-7.26).
Source id gbr-ho-hc1919-em-2019 · accessed 2 Oct 2026