Source document
Phase Two Review - Immigrant Investor Programme, Final Report (redacted)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
EY Phase Two review (governance, risk and control), final redacted report of 13 Nov 2020 (34 pp.; pp. 1-10 have text, pp. 11-34 are rotated scans, all OCR'd). Contains: summary of Phase One; stakeholder questionnaire counts (about the review, not the programme); eleven observations on staffing (team of 4 CO, 2 EO, 1 HEO and an AP; later 1.5 HEO, 3 EO, 5 CO), Evaluation Committee, risk management, data (AISIP), processing times ('generally under nine months' for familiar business models, management comment; added as a 0-9 month range), due diligence, AML/CTF, investment funds, endowment syndicate discount (€400,000 vs €500,000, '€100k discount'; terms already in the data), monitoring of investors and investments (investment within 90 days of provisional approval; rule, no new amount); COVID-19 context (IBEC, UNWTO, Euroconstruct, FDI figures: out of scope); IIP investment by sector 2012-2020 (pie, added); updated impact 2012-2020: €593m investment made (€262m in 2019-2020), GVA €223-400m, Exchequer €61-109m, FTE 3,377-6,052 (added); 97% of 2018 permits Chinese (repeat of Phase One, not duplicated); updated recommendations table. Event (report) already in the data. Sector shares add to 100. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
15 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Numbers (10)
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 223–400 million2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: Exchequer revenueEUR 61–109 million2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 262 million2019-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 593 million2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Jobs created by programme investorsCategory: Fte potential3,377–6,052 jobs2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Processing time0–9 months2020-11 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020ClaimIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Share of programme investment by asset class or routeSector: Education social health care57%2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Share of programme investment by asset class or routeSector: Hospitality tourism recreation29%2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Share of programme investment by asset class or routeSector: Construction real estate6%2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Share of programme investment by asset class or routeSector: Other8%2012-2020 · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
Rules and prices (4)
- Donationper investor where five or more investors pool endowments for one projectEUR 400,000Date not stated · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Donationsole investor (endowment option)EUR 500,000Date not stated · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Residence permit validityinvestor residency permission: renewal two years after initial registration2 yearsDate not stated · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Deadline to make the investmentinvestment to be made after provisional approval (extendable for valid reasons); permission issues only after the investment is received90 daysDate not stated · EY for Irish Justice Dept 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
About the document
What it covers Governance, risk and control review: staffing, Evaluation Committee, due diligence, AML, monitoring of investors and investments, endowment and fund options; COVID-19 impact. Few numbers.
Notes Report dated 13 November 2020; redacted version published June 2023.
Source id irl-doj-iip-review-phase2 · accessed 2 Oct 2026