Source document
Economic Development Board Act (Act 11 of 2017), consolidated text as amended to Act 13 of 2026
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Economic Development Board Act 2017 consolidated to Act 13 of 2026. In scope: definitions (golden visa issued under the Passports Act on EDB recommendation; IRS, RES, IHS, PDS, SCS); registration and deregistration of permit holders (s. 13-14; family occupation permit no longer listed); AI City Scheme (expedited permits for certificate holders); Second Schedule list of schemes incl. Property Development, Smart City, Sustainable City, Invest Hotel; First Schedule: investor USD 100,000 with 60-day transfer, MUR 5 million turnover from year 3 and MUR 8 million from year 5 for renewal (terms added); PRP: investor 5 years with MUR 15 million a year or MUR 75 million (same as Finance Act 2025, not repeated), AI Founder investing USD 1 million (term added), retiree 5 years and USD 200,000 (already in data), golden visa holder investing USD 1 million (already in data, with event); retiree criteria USD 2,000 initial and USD 24,000 a year or USD 2,000 a month (same as Finance Act 2025, not repeated); professional (MUR 50,000), young professional, self-employed USD 50,000 (not investment routes). Rest: EDB governance, other business schemes, financial provisions, consequential amendments of 2017. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
13 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Programmes (2)
Rules and prices (10)
- Business investmentmain applicant (investor occupation permit)USD 100,000Date not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Investment by AI founder for permanent residenceAI Founder under the AI City Scheme seeking permanent residenceUSD 1,000,000Date not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Golden visa holder's investment for permanent residencegolden visa holder seeking a permanent residence permitUSD 1,000,000Since 13 Aug 2026 · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Time before eligible for permanent residenceinvestor occupation permit holder applying for permanent residence (plus turnover of MUR 15 million a year or MUR 75 million over 5 consecutive years)5 yearsDate not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Deadline to make the investmentgolden visa holder seeking a permanent residence permit: USD 1 million to be invested within this period from the golden visa's issue (not in EDB-scheme residential property)12 monthsDate not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Deadline to make the investmentinvestor, transfer of USD 100,000 from abroad after issue of the occupation permit60 daysDate not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Minimum business turnover from year 3investor's business, turnover from the third year of registrationMUR 5,000,000Date not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Business turnover required to keep or renew the permitinvestor's business, turnover from the fifth year of registration (renewal condition)MUR 8,000,000Date not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Yearly business turnover for permanent residenceinvestor's business, each of the 5 years before a permanent residence applicationMUR 15,000,000Date not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Total business turnover over five years for permanent residenceinvestor's business, any consecutive 5 years immediately before a permanent residence applicationMUR 75,000,000Date not stated · Mauritius EDB 2026Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
5 more rows from this document are in the source data but not on this site: numbers we would have had to work out ourselves, figures a later correction replaced, or programmes outside these datasets.
About the document
What it covers First Schedule as in force from 13 Aug 2026: investor occupation permit USD 100,000; retiree USD 2,000 a month; permanent residence criteria incl. golden visa holders investing USD 1 million; no Family Occupation Permit criteria.
Notes Consolidation published by the EDB; amending Act 13 of 2026 itself was not obtained. 'Golden visa' is defined as a visa issued under the Passports Act on EDB recommendation; its own criteria were not found.
Source id mus-edb-act-consol-2026 · accessed 2 Oct 2026