Source document
The Finance Act 2025 (Act No. 18 of 2025)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 8 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Finance Act 2025 (66 sections amending many Acts; mostly tax and other matters, not in scope). In scope: s. 13 EDB Act new First Schedule (investor USD 50,000 and USD 100,000 options with year-1, cumulative year-5 and renewal turnover targets, 60-day transfer; start-ups; ProPass/Expert Pass and young professionals and self-employed USD 50,000 (not investment routes, not taken); Family Occupation Permit USD 250,000 (already in data); retiree USD 2,000 initial and USD 24,000 a year or USD 2,000 a month (already in data); PRP after 5 years: investor MUR 15 million a year or MUR 75 million, retiree USD 200,000 (already in data), professional MUR 400,000 salary, self-employed MUR 3 million); s. 25 Immigration Act 2022 (retiree permit 10 years, PRP 20 years, retiree conversion USD 40,000 a year, investor permit 10 years, Joint Committee and NELS procedure, dependants up to 24, combined work-residence permit, annual fee per foreign worker) commencing by Proclamation; s. 49 Registration Duty Act and s. 29 Land (Duties and Taxes) Act: new duty basis for non-citizen purchases of EDB scheme property from 1 July 2026 (registration duty rate not printed; land transfer tax 10% on non-citizen-to-non-citizen transfers: term added); s. 44 Non-Citizens (Property Restriction) Act; s. 63 Smart City Regulations (smart city fee for developers, not buyers). Terms and three events added.
What it supports
18 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Programmes (2)
Rules and prices (13)
- Business investmentmain applicant (investor occupation permit)USD 100,000Since 9 Aug 2025 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Time before eligible for permanent residenceinvestor occupation permit holder applying for permanent residence (plus turnover of MUR 15 million a year or MUR 75 million over 5 consecutive years)5 yearsSince 9 Aug 2025 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Residence permit validityinvestor occupation permit10 yearsDate not stated · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Permanent residence permit validitypermanent residence permit under s. 11(1)(a) (EDB Act First Schedule Part IV)20 yearsDate not stated · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Deadline to make the investmentinvestor (USD 50,000 or USD 100,000), transfer from abroad after issue of the occupation permit60 daysSince 9 Aug 2025 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Minimum business turnover from year 1investor on the USD 100,000 option, turnover from year 1 (rising to a cumulative MUR 15 million by year 5)MUR 1,000,0009 Aug 2025 – 12 Aug 2026 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Minimum business turnover from year 1investor on the USD 50,000 option, turnover from year 1 (rising to a cumulative MUR 20 million by year 5)MUR 1,500,0009 Aug 2025 – 12 Aug 2026 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Business turnover required to keep or renew the permitinvestor's business, annual turnover from year 6 (renewal condition; both USD 50,000 and USD 100,000 options)MUR 5,000,0009 Aug 2025 – 12 Aug 2026 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Cumulative business turnover by year 5investor on the USD 100,000 option, cumulative turnover by year 5MUR 15,000,0009 Aug 2025 – 12 Aug 2026 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Yearly business turnover for permanent residenceinvestor's business, each of the 5 years before a permanent residence applicationMUR 15,000,000Since 9 Aug 2025 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Cumulative business turnover by year 5investor on the USD 50,000 option, cumulative turnover by year 5MUR 20,000,0009 Aug 2025 – 12 Aug 2026 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Total business turnover over five years for permanent residenceinvestor's business, any consecutive 5 years immediately before a permanent residence applicationMUR 75,000,000Since 9 Aug 2025 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Land transfer tax on resalenon-citizen seller transferring EDB-scheme residential property (or property first acquired under a scheme) to a non-citizen10%1 Jul 2026 – 11 Aug 2026 · Mauritius Government Gazette 2025Mauritius · Residence through property purchase
Timeline (3)
- Investor permit turnover targets; permanent residence only after 5 years9 Aug 2025Rule changeMauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Permit applications to go through a Joint Committee (on Proclamation)9 Aug 2025Rule changeMauritius · Investor occupation permit
- New duty and 10% land transfer tax for scheme property sold to non-citizens from 1 July 20269 Aug 2025Rule changeMauritius · Residence through property purchase
7 more rows from this document are in the source data but not on this site: numbers we would have had to work out ourselves, figures a later correction replaced, or programmes outside these datasets.
About the document
What it covers s. 13: new EDB Act First Schedule (investor USD 50,000 or USD 100,000; retiree USD 2,000 a month; permanent residence after 5 years; Family Occupation Permit still USD 250,000). s. 25: Immigration Act 2022 sections 10-12 replaced (retiree permit 10 years; permanent residence 20 years).
Notes Assented 8 Aug 2025. Copy hosted by the Mauritius Revenue Authority. Contradicts some industry summaries that said retiree and investor permits were cut to 5 years: the Act keeps 10 years.
Source id mus-fa-2025 · accessed 2 Oct 2026