Source document
Immigration Act (Act 13 of 1970), consolidated text
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 8 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Immigration Act 1970, consolidated to 2009 amendments. In scope: residence for IRS owners and RES buyers of at least USD 500,000 (s. 5(1)(g), already in data); residence for investors and retirees (s. 5(1)(h)); permanent residence after 3 years for investor and retiree permit holders, 10-year PRP (s. 5A); occupation permit (s. 9A) and retiree permit (s. 9B) from 1 Oct 2006 (event already in data): 3-year validity, 2-working-day decision with deemed approval, prescribed fee and bank guarantee (amounts not stated); PRP bank guarantee up to MUR 50,000 (s. 10A); loss of status when Board of Investment certifies criteria no longer met (ss. 6, 6A); exempted persons incl. investors under the Permanent Resident Scheme (s. 7(1)(k)). Rest: admission, prohibited immigrants, deportation, offences (not in scope). Terms added for validity, PRP eligibility, decision deadline, PRP validity and guarantee.
What it supports
9 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Programmes (2)
Rules and prices (6)
- Time limit for a decisionoccupation permit application (investor; also retiree permits via s. 9B(3))2 working daysSince 1 Oct 2006 · Mauritius legislation 2011Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Time before eligible for permanent residenceinvestor occupation permit holder applying for permanent residence3 yearsDate not stated · Mauritius legislation 2011Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Residence permit validityinvestor occupation permit3 yearsSince 1 Oct 2006 · Mauritius legislation 2011Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Permanent residence permit validitypermanent residence permit granted to an investor, self-employed person, retiree or high earner10 yearsDate not stated · Mauritius legislation 2011Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Bank guarantee, permanent residence permitpermanent residence permit holder (ceiling: not exceeding MUR 50,000 or other prescribed sum)MUR 50,000Since 19 Jul 2008 · Mauritius legislation 2011Mauritius · Investor occupation permit
- Property purchasemain applicant and dependants (Real Estate Scheme buyer)USD 500,000Until 14 May 2015 · Mauritius legislation 2011Mauritius · Residence through property purchase
4 more rows from this document are in the source data but not on this site: numbers we would have had to work out ourselves, figures a later correction replaced, or programmes outside these datasets.
About the document
What it covers Consolidated text showing amendments up to 2009: resident status for IRS owners and RES owners at USD 500,000 (s. 5(1)(g)); occupation permit (s. 9A) and retiree permit (s. 9B) inserted with effect from 1 Oct 2006.
Notes As hosted by UNODC SHERLOC; PDF created March 2011; last amendment listed is Act 1 of 2009. Unofficial consolidation.
Source id mus-immigration-act-consol-2011 · accessed 2 Oct 2026