Source document
Immigrant Investor Program: Progress Made to Detect and Prevent Fraud, but Additional Actions Could Further Agency Efforts (GAO-16-828)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 8 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
GAO report (Sept 2016, 32 pp.) on USCIS fraud detection in EB-5: background, risk assessments (source-of-funds study, random site-visit pilot, national-security review), forms, interviews, FinCEN checks, FDNS resources, compliance unit, proposed fee increases, paper-file problem and digitisation study, Fraud Risk Framework comparison, hypothetical fraud risk profile (Appendix I), DHS comments (image pages OCR-ed: no numbers). Extracted (with the 2 rows already in the data: 851 regional centers, 61 terminated, Aug 2016): FDNS authorized positions 25 FTE; 50 planned pilot site visits (four states, from Aug 2016); ~14,000 petitions and applications expected a year; average review time 5.5 hours (I-829) to 40 hours (I-924); fees then in force (I-526 USD 1,500; I-924 USD 6,230) as program_terms. Not recorded: proposed fees (I-526 USD 3,675, I-924 USD 17,795, new I-924A USD 3,035; proposals, in force from Dec 2016 per other sources); ~1,000 pages per filing and 14 million pages a year; GAO samples (10 I-829 denials FY2010-2014, 10 regional centers, 20 files); statutory amounts and definitions; Fraud Risk Framework example table (hypothetical).
What it supports
9 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Numbers (7)
- Adjudication hours per decided case (completion rate)Form: I-8295.5 hoursGAO 2016EstimateUnited States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Adjudication hours per decided case (completion rate)Form: I-92440 hoursGAO 2016EstimateUnited States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Compliance site visits to programme entitiesCategory: Random site visit pilot50 visitsGAO 2016Budget targetUnited States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Investment-pooling entities approved (stock)851 regional centers2016-08 · GAO 2016Reported by othersUnited States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Investment-pooling entities terminated61 regional centers2016-08 · GAO 2016Reported by othersUnited States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Programme filings received (all or other forms)14,000 applicationsGAO 2016ForecastUnited States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Staff working on a programmeCategory: Fdns eb5 authorized25 fte2016-08 · GAO 2016Reported by othersUnited States · Investor visa (EB-5)
Rules and prices (2)
- Investor petition fee (Form I-526)investor petition, Form I-526 (filing fee in force when GAO reported, Sept 2016)USD 1,500Date not stated · GAO 2016United States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Fee for regional centre designationapplication for regional center designation or amendment, Form I-924 (fee in force when GAO reported, Sept 2016)USD 6,230Date not stated · GAO 2016United States · Investor visa (EB-5)
About the document
What it covers Follow-up on fraud controls; regional centers approved and terminated as of August 2016.
Notes gao.gov blocks scripted downloads (HTTP 403); the stored copy was downloaded from the Wayback Machine snapshot of the original PDF.
Source id usa-gao-16-828-2016 · accessed 2 Oct 2026