Source document
Immigration Permit Types: Description and requirements
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 11 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Department of Immigration page describing each permit type and its requirements (investor's, spouse, study, diplomatic, visiting, cross-border, temporary employment, temporary, transit, asylum seeker's, residence, employment). In scope: the investor's permit (age above 18, proof of personal investment US$250,000 new business / US$150,000 joining an existing company, renewal and variation requirements) and the residence (permanent) permit open to investors after more than 3 years, with its dependant age and cessation rules. Other permit types are out of scope. Earlier passes had the two investment amounts and the 3-year residence rule; this pass added the minimum age, the dependant age limit, two absence limits and the 6-month entry deadline (5 rules).
What it supports
9 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Programmes (1)
Rules and prices (8)
- Business investmentinvestor's permit, joining an existing company (proof of personal investment)USD 150,000Date not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
- Business investmentinvestor's permit, new business (proof of personal investment)USD 250,000Date not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
- Time before eligible for permanent residenceholder of an investor's permit (residence permit after more than three years)3 yearsDate not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
- Maximum time allowed abroadresidence permit holder absent without notifying the Director-General in writing (permit ceases if absence exceeds this)6 monthsDate not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
- Time limit to enter the countryresidence permit holder must enter Zambia within this period from the date of issue (or a later date endorsed by the Director-General), else the permit ceases6 monthsDate not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
- Maximum time allowed abroadresidence permit holder, any absence (permit ceases if absence exceeds this)12 monthsDate not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
- Minimum ageinvestor's permit applicant (stated as 'above the age of 18 years')18 yearsDate not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
- Maximum age of a dependent childdependant of a residence permit holder (residence permit for dependants aged 21 or below)21 yearsDate not stated · Zambia ImmigrationZambia · Investor's permit
About the document
What it covers Current requirements for each permit, including the Investor's Permit (US$250,000 new business / US$150,000 joining a company) and residence permit after 3 years on an investor's permit
Notes Page undated; retrieved 11 Oct 2026.
Source id zmb-doi-permit-types-2026 · accessed 11 Oct 2026