Source document
Comoros ex-presidents embroiled in passport sale scandal
News and industry documents belong to their publishers: we link to them and quote briefly, but don’t share copies.
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 10 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
AFP via France 24, 10 Apr 2018 (Wayback capture): Comoros parliamentary inquiry report (Dec 2017): almost 48,000 passports, more than 6,000 sold outside legal channels, price EUR 25,000-200,000, state missed out on up to $971 million (~80% of GDP), initial deal 4,000 bidoon families for $200 million, alleged $105 million and $29 million payments. Two rows already in data; the rest added (the payments under a proposed indicator).
What it supports
9 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Other documents give different figures in 1 case involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (7)
- CBI contributions collectedCategory: Agreed initial dealUSD 200 million2008 · France 24 2018Budget targetUnit not printedComoros · Economic citizenship programme
- CBI passports issued48,000 passports2008-2017 · France 24 2018Reported by othersComoros · Economic citizenship programme
- CBI passports issuedCategory: Outside legal channelsLimit: 6,000 passports2008-2017 · France 24 2018Reported by othersComoros · Economic citizenship programme
- CBI revenue missing or diverted971 million (currency not stated)2008-2017 · France 24 2018Reported by othersComoros · Economic citizenship programme
- Irregular payments alleged in connection with a grantCategory: Former president105 million (currency not stated)2008-2017 · France 24 2018Reported by othersComoros · Economic citizenship programme
- Irregular payments alleged in connection with a grantCategory: Promoter29 million (currency not stated)2008-2017 · France 24 2018Reported by othersComoros · Economic citizenship programme
- People covered by listed fund contributionsCategory: Agreed initial deal4,000 families2008 · France 24 2018Budget targetComoros · Economic citizenship programme
Rules and prices (1)
About the document
What it covers AFP's reading of the parliamentary report: ~48,000 passports, >6,000 outside legal channels, prices EUR 25,000-200,000, $971m shortfall, $105m 'gratuity' to Sambi
Notes Read from Wayback copy (direct link 403). AFP's shortfall ($971m) is nearly ten times Reuters' ($100m) from the same report.
Source id com-france24-2018-04-10 · accessed 10 Oct 2026