Source document
Rewards for information about cartels
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
CMA guidance 'Rewards for information about cartels' (first published 31 Mar 2014, current version states the £250,000 cap): why rewards are offered, what a cartel is, hotline, confidentiality, process (no-names first contact, identity then required), discretionary rewards set by value of information, harm stopped, effort and risk; paid only at the end of an investigation, expenses reimbursed; leniency applicants normally not rewarded; complainant businesses unlikely to get rewards. Cartel sanctions (10% of turnover, 5 years' prison, 15 years' disqualification) are not about the programme. No statistics. The £250,000 cap is already recorded from the 2023 news release (not duplicated); the discretionary rule was already recorded; this pass adds the anonymous-filing rule. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
4 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Programmes (1)
Reward rules (3)
- Anonymous reports allowedreward eligibility (identity needed once information is assessed)NoDate not stated · UK CMA 2014United Kingdom · Competition and Markets Authority rewards for information about cartels
- Award is discretionaryall rewardsYesDate not stated · UK CMA 2014United Kingdom · Competition and Markets Authority rewards for information about cartels
- Maximum awardper informantGBP 250,000Date not stated · UK CMA 2014United Kingdom · Competition and Markets Authority rewards for information about cartels
About the document
What it covers CMA guidance on informant rewards: maximum £250,000, discretionary, paid at the end of an investigation.
Notes First published 31 Mar 2014; page updated (gov.uk 'first_published_at' of the HTML attachment 2022-01-10) and now states the £250,000 cap.
Source id gbr-cma-rewards-guidance-2014 · accessed 5 Oct 2026