Source document
Independent Review of Disclosure and Fraud Offences: Fraud in the Digital Age (second report, CP 1600)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 8 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Independent Review of Disclosure and Fraud Offences, second report (280 pp.). Only chapter 11 'Whistleblower Incentivisation' (PDF pp. 131-148) and the recommendation lists (pp. 15, 263) concern reward programmes; the rest covers fraud trends, platforms, data-sharing, investigation, powers, penalties, DPAs and is out of scope. Chapter 11 contents: US, Canadian and Korean programmes described (rules and relayed figures), UK HMRC and CMA schemes, Ipsos poll (70% support rewards; 28/42/19/5/1%, out of scope: opinion, not programme data), Metropolitan Police CHIS payments 2022/23 £1,041,442.60 (out of scope: covert sources, no programme), SFO 167 qualifying whistleblowing disclosures 2024/25, acted on 153 (out of scope: SFO has no reward programme), Recommendations 15-18 (SFO rewards, false-report and harassment offences, arbitration panel). This pass adds 11 relayed observations (UK nationals tipping US programmes; SEC FY2023/FY2024; CFTC cumulative; CRA OTIP to 2019; OSC 2016-2022), 19 relayed rules, and the Birkenfeld award as a case. HMRC 2022/23 and 2023/24 totals and Recommendation 15 event were already recorded. Not recorded: Korea NTS informant rewards (5-20%) and foreign financial account rewards (5-15%) because the dataset has no programme for them; 'fewer than 1%' of US whistleblowers rewarded (unattributed, no programme or period); DOJ pilot programme description (no numbers).
What it supports
35 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
13 numbers1 case1 programme19 rules1 event
Other documents give different figures in 6 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (13)
- Awards paid (amount)Limit: CAD 9 million2016-2022 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersCanada · Ontario Securities Commission Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded11 persons2016-2022 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersCanada · Ontario Securities Commission Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)Limit: CAD 1 million2014-2019 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersCanada · Revenue Agency Offshore Tax Informant Program
- Money collected thanks to whistleblowersCAD 19.3 million2014-2019 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersCanada · Revenue Agency Offshore Tax Informant Program
- Awards paid (amount)GBP 978,2562023/24 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited Kingdom · HMRC payments to informants
- Awards paid (amount)GBP 508,5002022/23 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited Kingdom · HMRC payments to informants
- Awards paid (amount)USD 390 million2014-2025 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
- Sanctions ordered in whistleblower casesLimit: USD 3.2 billion2014-2025 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)Limit: USD 255 millionFY2024 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded47 personsFY2024 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded68 personsFY2023 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions receivedLimit: 18,000 tipsFY2023 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions receivedCountry: United Kingdom774 persons2012-2023 · UK Home Office 2026Reported by othersUnited States
Cases and awards (1)
Programmes (1)
Reward rules (19)
- Maximum awardper awardCAD 5,000,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026Canada · Ontario Securities Commission Whistleblower Program
- Maximum award shareadditional federal tax collected15%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026Canada · Revenue Agency Offshore Tax Informant Program
- Minimum award shareadditional federal tax collected5%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026Canada · Revenue Agency Offshore Tax Informant Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifyfederal tax collectedCAD 100,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026Canada · Revenue Agency Offshore Tax Informant Program
- Maximum awardper informantGBP 250,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United Kingdom · Competition and Markets Authority rewards for information about cartels
- Award is discretionaryrewards under s.26 CRCA 2005YesDate not stated · UK Home Office 2026United Kingdom · HMRC payments to informants
- Maximum award sharemonetary sanctions collected30%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum award sharemonetary sanctions collected10%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifymonetary sanctionsUSD 1,000,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
- Maximum award sharesum recovered (1986 amendments)30%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Maximum award sharepenalties and fines obtained by FinCEN30%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Minimum award sharepenalties and fines obtained by FinCEN10%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifypenalties and finesUSD 1,000,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Maximum award shareamount the IRS recovers30%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · IRS Whistleblower Program (Whistleblower Office), 26 U.S.C. § 7623
- Minimum award shareamount the IRS recovers15%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · IRS Whistleblower Program (Whistleblower Office), 26 U.S.C. § 7623
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifyamount recoveredUSD 2,000,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · IRS Whistleblower Program (Whistleblower Office), 26 U.S.C. § 7623
- Maximum award sharemonetary sanctions imposed30%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum award sharemonetary sanctions imposed10%Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifymonetary sanctionsUSD 1,000,000Date not stated · UK Home Office 2026United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
About the document
What it covers Chapter 11 'Whistleblower Incentivisation': UK reward schemes (HMRC, CMA), HMRC payments 2022/23-2023/24, FCA stance, Recommendation 15 (SFO rewards).
Notes Independent review led by Jonathan Fisher KC; report dated 31 Dec 2025, published by the Home Office on 14 July 2026. Its HMRC figures cite a law-firm bulletin (Park, 'Contentious Tax Bulletin November 2024'), so they are second-hand.
Source id gbr-fisher-review-fraud-digital-age-2026 · accessed 5 Oct 2026