Source document
Opinion of Advocate General Collins delivered on 4 October 2024, Case C-181/23, European Commission v Republic of Malta
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
Opinion of Advocate General Collins of 4 Oct 2024 in C-181/23 Commission v Malta (EUR-Lex XHTML). Legal framework (Maltese Citizenship Act art. 10, 2020 Act and 2020 Regulations: EUR 600,000/750,000 contribution, EUR 10,000 deposit, EUR 700,000 property or EUR 16,000 rent, EUR 10,000 donation, 36 months or 12 months with EUR 150,000 more, EUR 50,000 per dependant, cap of 400 a year and 1,500 in total; 2014 IIP cap of 1,800), pre-litigation steps, parties' arguments, analysis and the proposal to dismiss the action. The scheme terms repeat L.N. 437 of 2020 and are already in program_terms; the opinion event is already recorded under this id. One statement not recorded, for decision: Malta's pleading (point 125 of the text) that "a rate of refusal of approximately one third of all admissible applications" shows the scheme is not automatic; it is a party's claim in words with no period, so it was not turned into a cbi_rejection_rate number. The AG gives the filing date as 22 March 2023 (the judgment says 21 March). Only Malta is covered. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
13 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Rules and prices (12)
- Charitable donationmain applicantEUR 10,000Date not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Donation, first instalmentmain applicant (non-refundable deposit with the residence application or eligibility form, part of the EUR 600,000 / 750,000 contribution)EUR 10,000Date not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Property rentmain applicant (lease, 5 years)16,000 EUR per yearDate not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Donationeach dependantEUR 50,000Date not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Donationmain applicant, after 36 months residenceEUR 600,000Date not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Property purchasemain applicant (purchase and hold)EUR 700,000Date not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Donationmain applicant, before 36 months residence (minimum 12 months)EUR 750,000Date not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Residence requirementminimum residence when the EUR 750,000 contribution is paid (EUR 150,000 more)12 monthsDate not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Residence requirementmain applicant and dependants aged 18 and above (with the EUR 600,000 contribution)36 monthsDate not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Maximum approvals per yearmain applicants (excluding dependants)400 certificates per yearDate not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Cap on total approved applicantsmain applicants in total (excluding dependants)1,500 successful applicantsDate not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Citizenship for exceptional services
- Cap on total approved applicantsmain applicants in total (excluding dependants) under the 2014 citizenship scheme1,800 successful applicantsDate not stated · EU Court of Justice 2024Malta · Individual Investor Programme
About the document
What it covers Advocate General opinion proposing that the Court dismiss the Commission action against the Maltese 2020 citizenship scheme; describes the scheme terms (EUR 600 000 / 750 000 contribution, EUR 700 000 property, EUR 50 000 per dependant).
Notes English XHTML from the EU Publications Office (no PDF datastream). The Court did not follow the opinion (judgment of 29 April 2025, intl-cjeu-c181-23).
Source id intl-cjeu-c181-23-ag · accessed 2 Oct 2026