Source document
Citizenship by Investment (CBI) and Residency by Investment (RBI) schemes in the EU: State of play, issues and impacts (PE 627.128)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 10 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
EPRS study PE 627.128 (2018), "Citizenship by investment (CBI) and residency by investment (RBI) schemes in the EU": programme overview, permits and naturalisations, investment estimates, Table 1 shares of first residence permits, Table 4 net inflows as % of GDP (recorded earlier, 32 rows). Table 4 values printed without decimal separators (Ireland 52 41 and 0 02 %, Malta 64 73, Portugal 640 41) now recorded with the decimal place inferred (unit_basis guessed, notes explain). The GDP column is general macroeconomic data, out of scope; "No data available" cells are not zeros. The indicators earlier proposed for this document (programme_share_of_grants, cbi_inflows_pct_fdi, processing_time) have since been accepted.
What it supports
84 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Citizenship by investment
Other documents give different figures in 1 case involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (18)
- People granted citizenship16 personsto 2018-10 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersBulgaria · Citizenship for investors
- CBI inflows as a share of GDP2.5% of GDP2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateCyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 480 million2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateCyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 4,800,000,0002008-2017 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersCyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- People granted citizenship3,336 persons2008-2017 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersCyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- Programme grants as a share of all grants of the same statusCategory: NaturalisationsLimit: 10%2008-2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateCyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- Applications approved75 applicationsto 2015 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Applications received245 applicationsto 2015 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Applications rejected11 applicationsto 2015 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- CBI inflows as a share of GDP0.58% of GDP2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- CBI inflows as a share of GDP4.3% of GDP2014-2017 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- CBI share of government revenue40%2014 · EPRS 2018ForecastMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 64.73 million2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateUnit uncertainMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 203,673,4272013-2018 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- People granted citizenship947 persons2014-2016 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Programme grants as a share of all grants of the same statusCategory: NaturalisationsLimit: 38%2014-2016 · EPRS 2018EstimateMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Programme real-estate purchases as a share of all property transactions5.43%2016 · EPRS 2018EstimateMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Programme real-estate purchases as a share of all property transactionsCategory: Number of sales0.43%2016 · EPRS 2018EstimateMalta · Individual Investor Programme
Rules and prices (9)
- Minimum investment for any optionprice tag of citizenship (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 400,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Bulgaria · Citizenship for investors
- Investmentfast track: additional investment by a permanent resident under RBI scheme 2 (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)BGN 1,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Bulgaria · Citizenship for investors
- Privately owned residencemain applicant; permanent privately-owned residence, plus VAT, in addition to the investment (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 500,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Cyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- Minimum investment for any optionprice tag of citizenship (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 2,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Cyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- Property purchasemain applicant; buildings, land development or infrastructure, companies, or AIFs, or a combination (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 2,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Cyprus · Citizenship by investment programme
- Government bondsmain applicant; state bonds or projects, part of EUR 1.15 million (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 150,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Individual Investor Programme
- Property purchasemain applicant; property purchase, part of EUR 1.15 million (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 350,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Individual Investor Programme
- Donationmain applicant; net contribution, part of EUR 1.15 million (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 650,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Individual Investor Programme
- Minimum investment for any optionprice tag of citizenship (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 1,150,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Individual Investor Programme
Residence by investment
Other documents give different figures in 2 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (17)
- Investor residence permits issued490 permits2009-2017 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersBulgaria · Permanent residence for investors
- Programme grants as a share of all grants of the same statusCategory: First residence permits1%2009-2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateBulgaria · Permanent residence for investors
- CBI inflows as a share of GDP0.02% of GDP2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateUnit uncertainIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 52.41 million2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateUnit uncertainIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 209,650,0002012-2016 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investor residence permits issued380 permits2012-2016 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Programme grants as a share of all grants of the same statusCategory: First residence permits0.2%2012-2016 · EPRS 2018EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- CBI inflows as a share of GDP1% of GDP2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateLatvia · Investor residence permits
- Investor residence permits issued14,047 permits2012-2016 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersLatvia · Investor residence permits
- Programme grants as a share of all grants of the same statusCategory: First residence permits40%2012-2016 · EPRS 2018EstimateLatvia · Investor residence permits
- CBI inflows as a share of GDP0.33% of GDP2017 · EPRS 2018EstimatePortugal · Golden visa
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 640.41 million2017 · EPRS 2018EstimateUnit uncertainPortugal · Golden visa
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 4,004,151,3952013-2018 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersPortugal · Golden visa
- Investment by programme investorsRoute: Real estateEUR 3.5 billion2012-2018 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersPortugal · Golden visa
- Investor residence permits issued17,687 permits2013-2018 · EPRS 2018Reported by othersPortugal · Golden visa
- Programme grants as a share of all grants of the same statusCategory: First residence permits9%2013-2018 · EPRS 2018EstimatePortugal · Golden visa
- Programme investment inflows as a share of foreign direct investment13%2014 · EPRS 2018EstimatePortugal · Golden visa
Rules and prices (37)
- Investment in poorer regions with jobsinvestor, RBI scheme 1, poorer regions with at least 5 new jobs (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)BGN 250,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Bulgaria · Permanent residence for investors
- Investment in property or company sharesinvestor, RBI scheme 1 (temporary residence) (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)BGN 600,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Bulgaria · Permanent residence for investors
- Investment in shares or securitiesinvestor, RBI scheme 2 (permanent residence) (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)BGN 1,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Bulgaria · Permanent residence for investors
- Business investmentinvestor, RBI scheme 2, capital of an unlisted Bulgarian company (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)BGN 6,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Bulgaria · Permanent residence for investors
- Bank depositapplicant; in addition to the property (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 30,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Cyprus · Golden visa (permanent residence)
- Property purchaseapplicant; plus EUR 30,000 deposit in a Cypriot bank and income of at least EUR 30,000 a year (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 300,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Cyprus · Golden visa (permanent residence)
- Minimum income requiredapplicant (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)30,000 EUR per yearDate not stated · EPRS 2018Cyprus · Golden visa (permanent residence)
- Business investmentsole proprietor with business plan, RBI scheme 1 (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 65,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Estonia · Business residence permit
- Direct investmentlarge investor, RBI scheme 2 (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 1,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Estonia · Business residence permit
- Property purchaseinvestor (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 250,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Greece · Golden visa
- Donationinvestor; donation to an approved fund (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 500,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Government bondsinvestor; investor bonds (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 1,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Business investmentinvestor; Irish company, held 3 years (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 1,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Real estate investment trustsinvestor; Real Estate Investment Trusts (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 2,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment in innovative start-upsinvestor; innovative start-ups (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 500,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Italy · Investor visa
- Investment in company equityinvestor; limited companies or philanthropic donations (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 1,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Italy · Investor visa
- Government bondsinvestor (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 2,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Italy · Investor visa
- Business investmentinvestor; equity of a Latvian company (EUR 50,000 or 100,000 by number of employees) plus EUR 10,000 to the State budget (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 50,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Latvia · Investor residence permits
- Government bondsinvestor; interest-free special-purpose State securities, plus EUR 38,000 to the State budget (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 250,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Latvia · Investor residence permits
- Property purchaseinvestor; plus 5% of the property value to the State budget (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 250,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Latvia · Investor residence permits
- Subordinated capital in a credit institutioninvestor; subordinated liabilities, plus EUR 25,000 to the State budget (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 280,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Latvia · Investor residence permits
- Property rentbeneficiary; rent, south of Malta and Gozo (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)8,750 EUR per yearDate not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Global Residence Programme
- Property rentbeneficiary; rent, Malta (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)9,600 EUR per yearDate not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Global Residence Programme
- Minimum yearly taxbeneficiary; minimum tax to renew residence (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)15,000 EUR per yearDate not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Global Residence Programme
- Property purchasebeneficiary; property in the south of Malta (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 220,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Global Residence Programme
- Property purchasebeneficiary; property in Gozo (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 250,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Global Residence Programme
- Property purchasebeneficiary; property in the rest of Malta (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 275,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Global Residence Programme
- Property rentmain applicant; rent, South/Gozo (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)10,000 EUR per yearDate not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Residence and Visa Programme
- Property rentmain applicant; rent, Central/North Malta (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)12,000 EUR per yearDate not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Residence and Visa Programme
- Donationmain applicant; initial contribution (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 35,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Residence and Visa Programme
- Government bondsmain applicant; held 5 years (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 250,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Residence and Visa Programme
- Property purchasemain applicant; property in Gozo or the south of Malta (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 270,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Residence and Visa Programme
- Property purchasemain applicant; property in Malta (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 320,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Malta · Residence and Visa Programme
- Other investment optionsinvestor; SME capitalisation, urban-regeneration property, research, arts or heritage, EUR 250,000-350,000 (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 250,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Portugal · Golden visa
- Property purchaseinvestor (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 500,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Portugal · Golden visa
- Capital contributioninvestor (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)EUR 1,000,000Date not stated · EPRS 2018Portugal · Golden visa
- Jobs to createinvestor (as listed by EPRS, Oct 2018)10 jobsDate not stated · EPRS 2018Portugal · Golden visa
1 more row from this document is in the source data but not on this site: numbers we would have had to work out ourselves, figures a later correction replaced, or programmes outside these datasets.
About the document
What it covers Study for the TAX3 committee on CBI/RBI in BG, CY, EE, IE, IT, LV, MT, PT: naturalisations, permits, investment totals, inflows as % of GDP, property-market effects.
Notes Figures are the authors' compilation from national sources, press and other studies (recorded as reported or estimate). In Table 4 the decimal separators of several amounts are missing in the printed PDF (e.g. "64 73"), so those amounts were not recorded.
Source id intl-eprs-cbi-rbi-2018 · accessed 2 Oct 2026