Source document
International Narcotics Control Strategy Report 2001 (issued March 1, 2002): Money Laundering and Financial Crimes
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
US State Department INCSR 2001 (issued 1 March 2002), Money Laundering and Financial Crimes volume: introduction on offshore financial centres (economic citizenship paragraph: Belize, Dominica and St Kitts & Nevis sold inadequately controlled economic citizenships in 2001, Grenada suspended, Nauru sells; two buyers of Belizean citizenship at $25,000 apiece in December 2001 linked to a terrorist group, Belize to stop in January 2002; Antigua internet gaming licence fees, not programme), definitions for the Offshore Financial Services chart (the chart itself is a separate page, not in this file), US legislation and SAR material, international organisations (CFATF 2002 typologies on Caribbean economic citizenship programmes), and country reports for about 200 jurisdictions. Programme content in country reports: Belize (selling as of December 2001, no numbers), Dominica (approximately US$50,000 or US$75,000 in bonds; approximately 500 economic citizenships 1996-2000; PRC nationals using it to reach the US via Canada, no numbers), Grenada (reportedly suspended October 2001; FIBG founder bought a Grenadian passport; FIBG liabilities US$206 million and assets US$46 million are bank figures, not programme), St Kitts and Nevis ('improperly regulated economic citizenship program', no numbers; offshore company and trust counts are not programme), St Vincent (programme revoked April 2001, no passports issued: already in the data as an event). Belize price, Belize visa refusals and closure, SVG revocation and Nauru event were already taken from this source and were not repeated. 'Two individuals purchased' in December 2001 was not recorded as a count: it describes one incident, not a programme total for the month. Everything else (offshore banks, IBCs, gaming, AML laws, FATF listings) is not about the programmes. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
14 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Citizenship by investment
1 number2 programmes3 rules7 events
Programmes (2)
Rules and prices (3)
- Price of economic citizenshipper personUSD 25,000Until Jan 2002 · US State Dept INL 2002Belize · Economic citizenship programme
- Donationindividual (direct purchase; as described by the US State Department, March 2002)USD 50,000Date not stated · US State Dept INL 2002Dominica · Citizenship by investment programme
- Government bondsindividual (government bonds; as described by the US State Department, March 2002)USD 75,000Date not stated · US State Dept INL 2002Dominica · Citizenship by investment programme
Timeline (7)
- Belize ends its sale of economic citizenship in 2002Jan 2002ClosureBelize · Economic citizenship programme
- CFATF plans a 2002 typologies exercise on Caribbean economic citizenship programmes2002ContextSeveral countries
- US refuses visas to two Belize citizenship buyers linked to terrorismDec 2001ScandalBelize · Economic citizenship programme
- Grenada reportedly suspends citizenship sales after the September 11 attacksOct 2001ClosureGrenada · Economic citizenship (1997-2001)
- St Vincent and the Grenadines cancels its citizenship-selling programmeApr 2001ClosureSt Vincent and the Grenadines · Economic citizenship (2000-2001)
- US: Belize, Dominica and St Kitts and Nevis sold inadequately controlled economic citizenships in 20012001ContextSeveral countries: Belize, Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis
- US says Nauru sells poorly controlled citizenships in 20012001ContextNauru · Citizen Investor scheme
About the document
What it covers Belize stops selling economic citizenship (Jan 2002) after two buyers linked to a terrorist group; SVG revoked its programme in April 2001; Grenada suspended in 2001; Nauru still selling
Notes US government assessment. The OFC chart (separate page 8558) marks Belize, Dominica and Grenada 'S' = suspended or ceased sales in 2001.
Source id intl-usdos-incsr-2001 · accessed 2 Oct 2026