Source document
Review of the Immigrant Investor Programme - Phase One (social and economic analysis), final report
Has everything in it been taken?
Not extractableReviewed 11 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything readable has been taken; what is left cannot be read as data (for example charts without printed values, or missing pages). We never estimate values from a picture.
What is left
The appendix table on PDF p. 32 (supplement to the RBI/CBI map: scores by country) is unreadable in text recognition (OCR) (symbols only); the EPRS scatter chart (EY p. 22) prints no values beyond those stated in the text.
What the document holds
EY Phase One review of the IIP (social and economic analysis) for INIS, 24 April 2020, scanned (32 pp., OCR): executive summary, application process, observations and recommendations, data gaps, investment made 2012-2018, Chinese share of permits, permits by year, sector amounts and the p. 29 sector table, GVA, Exchequer and FTE totals and by year (recorded in earlier passes); EU comparison, wider FDI and Brexit context; best practice from Portugal and the US EB-5. This pass added, deciding the open items under the extract-everything principle: the EY reading of the February 2019 Guidelines (four-month average processing target; endowment minimum EUR 350,000 after discounts; enterprise and fund EUR 1 million; REIT EUR 2 million held 3 years) and the one-day-per-year presence rule; Transparency International figures as relayed (over 6,000 citizens, almost 100,000 residents, about EUR 25 billion); European Commission counts of Member States with schemes (20, elsewhere 18, RBI; 3 CBI; proposed indicator); the printed EPRS scores (Ireland 5 and 5, UK 4 and 5, European average 5; proposed indicator); and secondary rules for Bulgaria (six months' presence), Portugal (EUR 500,000 / 350,000 / 280,000) and the US EB-5 from 21 Nov 2019 (USD 1.8 million / 900,000 TEA, 10 jobs, TEA thresholds). Not stored: 'around two-thirds' of construction being social housing (a fraction in words); FDI and Brexit context figures (out of scope).
What it supports
89 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Residence by investment
Other documents give different figures in 1 case involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (73)
- Applicant shareNationality: China97%2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Applications receivedNationality: China297 applications2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Applications receivedNationality: United States4 applications2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Assessment score of a scheme (comparative study)Category: Access conditions5 score2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Assessment score of a scheme (comparative study)Category: Rights granted5 score2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Change in a programme's estimated economic benefit (percent, as printed)Category: Gva15%2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Change in a programme's estimated economic benefit (percent, as printed)Category: Gva−3%2017 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Change in a programme's estimated economic benefit (percent, as printed)Category: Gva291%2016 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Change in a programme's estimated economic benefit (percent, as printed)Category: Gva169%2015 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Change in a programme's estimated economic benefit (percent, as printed)Category: Gva63%2014 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Change in a programme's estimated economic benefit (percent, as printed)Category: Gva220%2013 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 70.9 million2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 61.4 million2017 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 63.5 million2016 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 16.2 million2015 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 6.0 million2014 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 3.7 million2013 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Business services · Category: GvaEUR 25 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Business services · Category: Exchequer revenueEUR 4 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Construction · Category: GvaEUR 64 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Construction · Category: Exchequer revenueEUR 19 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Finance · Category: GvaEUR 26 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Finance · Category: Exchequer revenueEUR 5 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Health social work · Category: GvaEUR 65 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Health social work · Category: Exchequer revenueEUR 19 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Leisure culture tourism · Category: GvaEUR 44 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeSector: Leisure culture tourism · Category: Exchequer revenueEUR 13 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 223 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: Exchequer revenueEUR 61 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Estimated economic benefit of a programmeCategory: GvaEUR 1.2 million2012 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020EstimateIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsEUR 331 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsCategory: All funds made and not madeEUR 632 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsRoute: Enterprise · Category: SmeEUR 30 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsSector: Social housingEUR 62 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsSector: Nursing homeEUR 70 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsRoute: EndowmentEUR 14 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsSector: Business servicesEUR 30 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsSector: ConstructionEUR 98 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsSector: FinanceEUR 35 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment by programme investorsSector: Health social workEUR 100 million2012-2018 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Reported by othersIreland · Immigrant Investor Programme
Showing 40 of 73. See all 73 in the table
Rules and prices (14)
- Endowmentphilanthropic contribution after the bulk and education discounts (minimum)EUR 350,000Since Feb 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Business investmentone or more Irish enterprises, for at least 3 yearsEUR 1,000,000Since Feb 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Investment fund unitsINIS-approved investment fundEUR 1,000,000Since Feb 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Real estate investment trustsIrish REIT(s) listed on the Irish Stock Exchange, held for three yearsEUR 2,000,000Since Feb 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Required physical presenceinvestor (the only presence requirement)1 days per calendar yearDate not stated · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Holding period for the investmententerprise and REIT options3 yearsSince Feb 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Ireland · Immigrant Investor Programme
- Property purchaseproperty over 30 years old in a lower-density areaEUR 280,000Date not stated · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Portugal · Golden visa
- Property purchaseproperty over 30 years oldEUR 350,000Date not stated · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Portugal · Golden visa
- Property purchaseproperty investmentEUR 500,000Date not stated · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020Portugal · Golden visa
- Investment in a targeted employment areatargeted employment area (from 21 Nov 2019)USD 900,000Since 21 Nov 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020United States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Investmentstandard investment (from 21 Nov 2019)USD 1,800,000Since 21 Nov 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020United States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Jobs to createjobs to be created per investor10 jobsSince 21 Nov 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020United States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Unemployment level for a high-unemployment targeted areahigh-unemployment targeted employment area150 percent of national average unemploymentSince 21 Nov 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020United States · Investor visa (EB-5)
- Population limit for a rural targeted employment areacities or towns outside metropolitan areas that count as rural TEAs20,000 populationSince 21 Nov 2019 · EY for INIS (Ireland) 2020United States · Investor visa (EB-5)
8 more rows from this document are in the source data but not on this site: numbers we would have had to work out ourselves, figures a later correction replaced, or programmes outside these datasets.
About the document
What it covers External review commissioned June 2019: investment made 2012-2018 (EUR 331m of EUR 632m), Chinese share of permits, permits 2012 vs 2018, potential GDP/jobs impact, data gaps, recommendations.
Notes Scanned PDF (no text layer); figures read from OCR and checked against page images. Report dated 24 April 2020; published by the Department on irishimmigration.ie in June 2023 (upload path and PDF creation date 28 June 2023). Several pages are rotated tables that OCR cannot read. Consultant's figures based on INIS data.
Source id irl-doj-iip-review-phase1 · accessed 2 Oct 2026