Source document
Murdered Maltese Journalist was Investigating Island's Golden Visas
News and industry documents belong to their publishers: we link to them and quote briefly, but don’t share copies.
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 10 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
OCCRP Daphne Project article (Apr 2018; Wayback capture, origin timed out) on Daphne Caruana Galizia's investigation of the IIP: estimated EUR 850m raised, applications (1,300+) and approvals (1,000+), visa-free access (157 countries), Henley & Partners income (EUR 20m+), base cost EUR 650,000, EUR 5m net worth 'normal minimum', 155+ approved agents; FIAU report on payments by three Russian applicants (EUR 166,832, two EUR 50,000 transfers, EUR 583,618 and EUR 609,831 account movements: case transactions, not programme statistics). Russia's 113 visa-free countries is out of scope.
What it supports
10 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Other documents give different figures in 1 case involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (7)
- Applications approvedLimit: 1,000 applications2014-2018 · OCCRP 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Applications receivedLimit: 1,300 applications2014-2018 · OCCRP 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- CBI inflowsEUR 850 million2014-2018 · OCCRP 2018ClaimMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- CBI rejection rateLimit: 20%2014-2018 · OCCRP 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Income of programme intermediariesLimit: EUR 20 million2014-2018 · OCCRP 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Licensed programme agentsLimit: 155 agentsOCCRP 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
- Visa-free destinations157 countriesOCCRP 2018Reported by othersMalta · Individual Investor Programme
Rules and prices (2)
- Donationeach primary applicant (smaller additional fees for family members)EUR 650,000Date not stated · OCCRP 2018Malta · Individual Investor Programme
- Typical minimum net worth (not a legal requirement)'normal minimum' net worth of applicants according to the IIP agency chief (not a legal requirement)EUR 5,000,000Date not stated · OCCRP 2018Malta · Individual Investor Programme
About the document
What it covers Estimated IIP money raised, applicant numbers, Henley income, alleged kickbacks
Notes Media; linked, not stored. No source given for the EUR 850 million estimate. It also says Henley "has made at least EUR 20 million in fees and other income"; official distributions to Henley & Partners reached EUR 28,800,000 by 30 June 2018 (mlt-orgcem-ar-2018, PDF p. 21).
Source id mlt-occrp-daphne-2018 · accessed 10 Oct 2026