Source document
Press Release Number 6933-14: CFTC Issues First Whistleblower Award
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 9 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
CFTC press release 6933-14 (20 May 2014): first CFTC whistleblower award, "approximately $240,000" (case already recorded, c-fa652e5107); quotes from officials (more high-quality tips, no figures); programme basics: awards for actions with more than $1 million in sanctions, 10-30% of monies collected, related actions, anti-retaliation. Added the threshold and percentage rules as restated here. "First award" is a word, not recorded as a count. Rules restated from other sources are now recorded from this document too (decision 8).
What it supports
4 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Cases and awards (1)
Reward rules (3)
- Maximum award sharemonetary sanctions collected30%Date not stated · CFTC 2014United States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum award sharemonetary sanctions collected10%Date not stated · CFTC 2014United States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifymonetary sanctions in the action the information leads toUSD 1,000,000Date not stated · CFTC 2014United States · CFTC Whistleblower Program
About the document
What it covers CFTC whistleblower award announcement: award amount as rounded by the CFTC, number of whistleblowers
Notes Downloaded directly from cftc.gov. The CFTC does not name the enforcement action or give the exact amount.
Source id usa-cftc-wb-pr-6933-14 · accessed 5 Oct 2026