Source document
Justice Dept. Civil Fraud Recoveries Total $2.1 Billion for FY 2003; False Claims Act Recoveries Exceed $12 Billion Since 1986 (03-613)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 10 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
DOJ press release 03-613 (10 Nov 2003): record $2.1 billion recoveries in FY2003, 75% above FY2002 ($1.1 billion), over $12 billion since 1986; $1.48 billion from qui tam suits; relator share rules (15-25% with intervention, up to 30% without); over $319 million in rewards; health care $1.7 billion; defence procurement $299 million; Interior gas leases $49 million; largest recoveries: HCA $641 million (HCA total $1.7 billion, whistleblowers $154 million), Abbott $382 million (undercover Operation Headwaters; states $18 million + $14.5 million; $200 million criminal fines), AstraZeneca $280 million (whistleblower $47.7 million), Northrop Grumman $191 million ($111 million TRW, whistleblower $27.2 million; $60 million; $20 million), Bayer $143 million (whistleblower allegations; $108 million to states), GlaxoSmithKline $47 million (+$40 million), Tenet $51 million (+ nearly $3 million), Endovascular $49 million (+$43.4 million criminal), Shell $49 million (earlier $56 million and $110 million), Lockheed Martin $38 million. Already in the data: 7 observations and the HCA case. Added: 3 rules, Interior gas-lease recoveries, 3 whistleblower cases (AstraZeneca, Northrop/TRW, Bayer). Decision 10 pass (2026-10-10): every named settlement, judgment and newly announced government suit not already in cases.csv added as a case with whistleblower_link=not_stated (the document does not tie it to a whistleblower): 8 cases (8 settlements). Amounts as printed (lower/upper bounds and global vs civil parts explained in notes); individuals only where named by the agency as parties. Abbott is recorded with a note that the release attributes it to a government undercover operation. The existing HCA case ($1.7 billion total) covers the $641 million FY2003 settlement and was not repeated.
What it supports
23 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Other documents give different figures in 4 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (8)
- Awards paid (amount)Limit: USD 319 millionFY2003 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Money collected thanks to whistleblowersUSD 1.48 billionFY2003 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesUSD 2.1 billionFY2003 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: HealthcareUSD 1.7 billionFY2003 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: Procurement · Agency: DoDUSD 299 millionFY2003 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: Gas leases · Agency: DOIUSD 49 millionFY2003 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesUSD 1.1 billionFY2002 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesLimit: USD 12 billionFY1987-FY2003 · US Justice Dept 2003Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Cases and awards (12)
- Shell Oil CompanyMoney collected USD 49,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Bayer CorporationMoney collected USD 143,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Northrop Grumman Space & Mission Systems Corporation (successor to TRW Inc.)USD 27,200,000Money collected USD 111,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Lockheed Martin CorporationMoney collected USD 38,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Northrop Grumman CorporationMoney collected USD 20,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Northrop Grumman CorporationMoney collected USD 60,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Endovascular Technologies, Inc. (subsidiary of Guidant Corp.)Money collected USD 49,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- SmithKline Beecham Corporation (GlaxoSmithKline)Money collected USD 47,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Abbott Laboratories (Ross Products Division)Money collected USD 382,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals, LPUSD 47,700,000Money collected USD 280,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Tenet Healthcare Corporation and Tenet HealthSystems Hospitals, Inc.Money collected USD 51,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- HCA Inc.USD 154,000,0002003 · Money collected USD 1,700,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Reward rules (3)
- Maximum award shareUnited States intervenes25%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2003United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Maximum award shareUnited States declines to intervene; whistleblower pursues alone30%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2003United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Minimum award shareUnited States intervenes15%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2003United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
About the document
What it covers FY2003 (and FY2002) recoveries, qui tam recoveries, relator awards, health care, defense; HCA combined relator share
Notes Retrieved from the Wayback Machine (id_ original file); justice.gov no longer hosts this page.
Source id usa-doj-fca-pr-fy2003 · accessed 5 Oct 2026