Source document
Justice Department Recovers $1.4 Billion in Fraud & False Claims in Fiscal Year 2005; More Than $15 Billion Since 1986 (05-595)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 10 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
DOJ press release 05-595 (7 Nov 2005): over $1.4 billion recoveries in FY2005, $15 billion since 1986; $1.1 billion from qui tam suits; treble damages and $5,500-$11,000 penalty per false claim (liability, not reward); relator share rules (15-25% with intervention, up to 30% without); $166 million awarded to whistleblowers; health care $1.1 billion; DoD procurement over $112 million; PriceWaterhouseCoopers $41.9 million; Harvard $30.5 million; most significant: HealthSouth $327 million ($170/$65/$92 million parts; $251 million government-initiated, $76 million from four qui tam suits; five relators $12.6 million), Gambro $310 million (+$15 million states, $25 million criminal fine), GlaxoSmithKline $140 million (Ven-A-Care qui tam; +$10 million states), AdvancePCS $138.5 million. Already in the data: 6 observations. Added: 3 rules and 2 qui tam cases (HealthSouth, GSK). Decision 10 pass (2026-10-10): every named settlement, judgment and newly announced government suit not already in cases.csv added as a case with whistleblower_link=not_stated (the document does not tie it to a whistleblower): 4 cases (4 settlements). Amounts as printed (lower/upper bounds and global vs civil parts explained in notes); individuals only where named by the agency as parties.
What it supports
15 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Other documents give different figures in 2 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (6)
- Awards paid (amount)USD 166 millionFY2005 · US Justice Dept 2005Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Money collected thanks to whistleblowersUSD 1.1 billionFY2005 · US Justice Dept 2005Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesLimit: USD 1.4 billionFY2005 · US Justice Dept 2005Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: HealthcareUSD 1.1 billionFY2005 · US Justice Dept 2005Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: Procurement · Agency: DoDLimit: USD 112 millionFY2005 · US Justice Dept 2005Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesUSD 15 billionFY1987-FY2005 · US Justice Dept 2005Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Cases and awards (6)
- GlaxoSmithKlineMoney collected USD 140,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Harvard University and its agentsMoney collected USD 30,500,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Gambro HealthcareMoney collected USD 310,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- PriceWaterhouseCoopers, L.L.P.Money collected USD 41,900,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- AdvancePCS (subsidiary of Caremark, Inc.)Money collected USD 138,500,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- HealthSouth CorporationUSD 12,600,000Money collected USD 76,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Reward rules (3)
- Maximum award sharegovernment intervenes25%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2005United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Maximum award shareUnited States declines to intervene; whistleblower pursues alone30%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2005United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Minimum award sharegovernment intervenes15%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2005United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
About the document
What it covers FY2005 recoveries, qui tam recoveries, relator awards, health care, defense procurement
Notes Retrieved from the Wayback Machine (id_ original file); justice.gov no longer hosts this page.
Source id usa-doj-fca-pr-fy2005 · accessed 5 Oct 2026