Source document
Justice Department Recovers $2 Billion for Fraud Against the Government in FY 2007; More Than $20 Billion Since 1986 (07-873)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 10 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
DOJ press release 07-873 (1 Nov 2007) on FY2007 FCA recoveries: $2 billion total; more than $20 billion since 1986; $1.45 billion from qui tam suits; $177 million to relators; health care $1.54 billion; DoD $48.4 million; relator share rules (15-25%, up to 30%); civil penalty of $5,500-$11,000 per claim (defendants' liability, not a reward rule, not recorded); $264 million returned to state Medicaid in pharmaceutical cases; fact sheet of 11 significant recoveries. Already in the data: 6 observations. Added: 3 rules, the state Medicaid figure and 7 qui tam cases (BMS, Aventis, Medco, Oracle/PeopleSoft, Harbert judgment, Maximus, InterMune). Not cases because the release does not link them to a qui tam suit or relator: Zimmer/Depuy/Biomet/Smith & Nephew $311 million, Amerigroup $172 million judgment, Purdue $100.6 million, Burlington Resources $97.5 million ($105.3 million with interest), Mellon Bank $34.6 million. "More than $800 million" from five named pharmaceutical settlements is a sum of named settlements, not a category total, so not recorded. Decision 10 pass (2026-10-10): every named settlement, judgment and newly announced government suit not already in cases.csv added as a case with whistleblower_link=not_stated (the document does not tie it to a whistleblower): 5 cases (4 settlements, 1 judgments (outcome 'reported')). Amounts as printed (lower/upper bounds and global vs civil parts explained in notes); individuals only where named by the agency as parties. Added: hip and knee implant makers ($311 million, one combined case), Amerigroup Illinois judgment, Purdue, Burlington, Mellon.
What it supports
22 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Other documents give different figures in 3 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (7)
- Awards paid (amount)USD 177 millionFY2007 · US Justice Dept 2007Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Money collected thanks to whistleblowersUSD 1.45 billionFY2007 · US Justice Dept 2007Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesUSD 2 billionFY2007 · US Justice Dept 2007Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: HealthcareUSD 1.54 billionFY2007 · US Justice Dept 2007Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: Procurement · Agency: DoDUSD 48.4 millionFY2007 · US Justice Dept 2007Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: Pharmaceutical · Recipient: State medicaidUSD 264 millionFY2007 · US Justice Dept 2007Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesLimit: USD 20 billionFY1987-FY2007 · US Justice Dept 2007Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Cases and awards (12)
- Burlington Resources, Inc. (subsidiary of Conoco Phillips)Money collected USD 97,500,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Mellon Bank, N.A.Money collected USD 34,600,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Amerigroup, Illinois Inc.Money collected USD 172,000,000ReportedUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Zimmer, Inc.; Depuy Orthopaedics, Inc.; Biomet Inc.; Smith & Nephew, Inc.Money collected USD 311,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Purdue Pharma L.P. and Purdue Frederick Company, Inc.Money collected USD 100,600,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Oracle Corporation (for PeopleSoft, Inc.)USD 17,700,0002007 · Money collected USD 98,500,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Maximus, Inc.USD 4,930,0002007 · Money collected USD 42,650,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Harbert International, Inc. and related Harbert companies2007 · Money collected USD 90,000,000ReportedUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Bristol-Myers Squibb Company (BMS) and ApotheconUSD 52,000,0002007 · Money collected USD 328,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- InterMune, Inc.USD 5,700,0002007 · Money collected USD 30,200,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Medco Health Solutions, Inc.USD 23,900,0002007 · Money collected USD 155,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Aventis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.USD 33,000,0002007 · Money collected USD 180,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Reward rules (3)
- Maximum award shareUnited States intervenes25%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2007United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Maximum award shareUnited States declines and the relator pursues the action alone30%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2007United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Minimum award shareUnited States intervenes15%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2007United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
About the document
What it covers FY2007 recoveries, qui tam recoveries, relator awards, health care, defense
Notes Retrieved from the Wayback Machine (id_ original file); justice.gov no longer hosts this page. Some punctuation (dashes, apostrophes) is lost in the archived text.
Source id usa-doj-fca-pr-fy2007 · accessed 5 Oct 2026