Source document
More Than $1 Billion Recovered by Justice Department in Fraud and False Claims in Fiscal Year 2008 (08-992)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 10 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
DOJ press release 08-992 (10 Nov 2008) on FY2008 FCA recoveries: $1.34 billion total; more than $21 billion since 1986; almost 78% from qui tam suits; $198 million to relators; health care $1.12 billion; defence procurement $133 million; relator share rules; civil penalty of $5,500-$11,000 per claim (liability, not a reward rule, not recorded); $430 million to state Medicaid from three pharmaceutical settlements; fact sheet of 10 significant recoveries. Already in the data: 6 observations and 10 qui tam cases (Merck x2, Cephalon, Amerigroup, Kyphon, SIUH x2, St. Joseph's, Bechtel/PB, CVS Caremark). Added: 3 rules and the state Medicaid figure. Not cases (no qui tam link in the release): Lester E. Cox Medical Centers $60 million, Pratt & Whitney/PCC Airfoils $53 million, the SIUH resident-count ($35.7 million) and psychiatric-bed ($1.47 million) matters. "More than $640 million" from three named settlements is a sum of named settlements, not recorded. Decision 10 pass (2026-10-10): every named settlement, judgment and newly announced government suit not already in cases.csv added as a case with whistleblower_link=not_stated (the document does not tie it to a whistleblower): 4 cases (4 settlements). Amounts as printed (lower/upper bounds and global vs civil parts explained in notes); individuals only where named by the agency as parties. Added Cox and Pratt & Whitney/PCC Airfoils, plus SIUH's third ($35.7 million) and fourth ($1.47 million) matters: different settlements from the two SIUH qui tam settlements already recorded, so added although the target is the same.
What it supports
24 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Other documents give different figures in 2 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (7)
- Awards paid (amount)USD 198 millionFY2008 · US Justice Dept 2008Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Share of recoveries by categoryCategory: Qui tam78%FY2008 · US Justice Dept 2008Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesUSD 1.34 billionFY2008 · US Justice Dept 2008Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: HealthcareUSD 1.12 billionFY2008 · US Justice Dept 2008Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: Procurement · Agency: DoDUSD 133 millionFY2008 · US Justice Dept 2008Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesCategory: Pharmaceutical · Recipient: State medicaidUSD 430 millionFY2008 · US Justice Dept 2008Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Total recoveriesLimit: USD 21 billionFY1987-FY2008 · US Justice Dept 2008Final figureUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Cases and awards (14)
- Pratt & Whitney (division of United Technologies Corporation); PCC Airfoils LLC (subsidiary of Precision Castparts Corporation)Money collected USD 53,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Staten Island University HospitalMoney collected USD 35,700,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Lester E. Cox Medical CentersMoney collected USD 60,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Staten Island University HospitalMoney collected USD 1,470,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Merck & Co.USD 46,600,0002008 · Money collected USD 221,900,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Cephalon Inc.USD 46,700,0002008 · Money collected USD 258,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Bechtel Infrastructure Corp. and PB Americas Inc.USD 54,0002008 · Money collected USD 23,200,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Staten Island University HospitalUSD 2,300,0002008 · Money collected USD 11,800,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Kyphon Inc. (now Medtronic Spine LLC)USD 14,900,0002008 · Money collected USD 75,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- St. Joseph’s Hospital of AtlantaUSD 4,940,0002008 · Money collected USD 26,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Amerigroup Corporation (and Amerigroup Illinois)USD 56,250,0002008 · Money collected USD 225,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Merck & Co.USD 24,000,0002008 · Money collected USD 139,500,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Staten Island University HospitalUSD 3,750,0002008 · Money collected USD 25,000,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- CVS Caremark Corp.USD 4,300,0002008 · Money collected USD 21,100,000SettledUnited States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
Reward rules (3)
- Maximum award shareUnited States intervenes25%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2008United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Maximum award shareUnited States declines and the relator pursues the action alone30%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2008United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
- Minimum award shareUnited States intervenes15%Date not stated · US Justice Dept 2008United States · False Claims Act qui tam provisions
About the document
What it covers FY2008 recoveries, qui tam share (percent), relator awards, health care, defense procurement; fact sheet of significant cases with relator shares
Notes Retrieved from the Wayback Machine (id_ original file); justice.gov no longer hosts this page.
Source id usa-doj-fca-pr-fy2008 · accessed 5 Oct 2026