Source document
Whistleblower Incentives and Protections (Notice of proposed rulemaking), 91 FR 16328
Has everything in it been taken?
PartialReviewed 8 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Some of what it contains has knowingly not been taken yet.
What is left
Table 3 (PDF p. 24, image) total row for new and supplemental tips not reliably legible by text recognition (OCR) (readings 465 and 306 with few votes, against 469/39 in others): read visually and add. Table 4 cells were read by text recognition (OCR) majority vote and should get the independent second reading against the page image. Not recorded: the SEC/CFTC awards ratio of about 2 represented to 1 unrepresented whistleblower (p. 46, from Platt 2023), for lack of an indicator.
What the document holds
FinCEN Notice of Proposed Rulemaking "Whistleblower Incentives and Protections", 91 FR 16328 (1 Apr 2026, 59 pp.): background and statutes (AML Act 2020, AML Whistleblower Improvement Act 2022), section-by-section analysis of proposed 31 CFR 1010.930 (definitions, $1 million covered-action threshold, submission rules, eligibility, permanent bars, award applications and deadlines, 10-30% awards, $15 million maximum-award presumption, related actions and other programmes, determinations, confidentiality, appeals, anti-retaliation), requests for comment, regulatory analysis (baseline: 87 original tips a year 2021-2024; Table 3 tips and award applications by year 2021-2025; Table 4 tip lifecycle; 20% of tips also sent to other agencies; tips since May 2021; Tables 1-2 and 5-6 populations of financial institutions and industries and small-entity shares - out of scope; government costs $1.8 million then $1.6 million a year; CBO estimates), RFA, UMRA, PRA (expected 400 Form TCRs and 15 Form WB-APPs a year; Tables 9-24 on form fields, completion time and cost burden - compliance burden, out of scope), proposed rule text and draft Forms TCR and WB-APP. Already in the data: Table 3 by year (22 rows incl. one Table 4 cell), 2 proposed rules, 3 events. Added: Table 4 (other cells and total), Table 3 applications total, text shares (61%, 3%, 20%), PRA forecasts, operating-cost estimates, 9 proposed rules, 1 event; new indicators tip_share, supplemental_tips_per_tip and programme_operating_cost.
What it supports
78 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
62 numbers1 programme11 rules4 events
Other documents give different figures in 2 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (62)
- Award claims received15 applicationsannual, within 3 years of a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received4 applications2025 · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received5 applications2024 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received3 applications2023 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received0 applications2022 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received12 applications2021-2025 · FinCEN 2026EstimateUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received0 applications2021 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Cost of running a whistleblower programmeItem: Cbo operating costUSD 1 millionper operational year · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Cost of running a whistleblower programmeItem: First yearUSD 1.8 millionfirst year after a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Cost of running a whistleblower programmeItem: Cbo program developmentUSD 300,000first two years of full operation · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Cost of running a whistleblower programmeItem: Each later yearUSD 1.6 millioneach year after the first · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later3%annual, within 3 years of a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Supplemented later54.2%2025 · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later3.20%2025 · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Supplemented later46.0%2024 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later4.30%2024 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Supplemented later72.0%2023 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later2.10%2023 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Supplemented later36.5%2022 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later0.00%2022 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Supplemented later60.7%2021-2025 · FinCEN 2026EstimateUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later1.92%2021-2025 · FinCEN 2026EstimateUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Supplemented later61%2021-2025 · FinCEN 2026EstimateUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later3%2021-2025 · FinCEN 2026EstimateUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Also submitted to other agencies20%2021 to 2025-02 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Supplemented later8.3%2021 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Share of tips in a categoryItem: Award application later0.00%2021 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Supplemental submissions per supplemented tip3.52 ratio2025 · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Supplemental submissions per supplemented tip2.18 ratio2024 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Supplemental submissions per supplemented tip1.87 ratio2023 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Supplemental submissions per supplemented tip2.08 ratio2022 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Supplemental submissions per supplemented tip1.95 ratio2021-2025 · FinCEN 2026EstimateUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Supplemental submissions per supplemented tip0.08 ratio2021 · FinCEN 2026Final figureUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions received400 tipsannual, within 3 years of a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions receivedTip type: New250 tipsannual, within 3 years of a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions receivedTip type: Supplemental150 tipsannual, within 3 years of a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions receivedTip type: New · Item: With supplement150 tipsannual, within 3 years of a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions receivedItem: Rolling annual base500 tipsannual, within 3 years of a final rule · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions received208 tips2025 · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Whistleblower tips or submissions receivedTip type: New120 tips2025 · FinCEN 2026ForecastUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
Showing 40 of 62. See all 62 in the table
Programmes (1)
Reward rules (11)
- Amount covered by the presumption of the maximum awardproposed rule only: presumption of the maximum 30% award when 30% of collected sanctions is $15 million or lessUSD 15,000,000Date not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Anonymous reports allowedproposed rule only (NPRM of 1 April 2026), not in force1Date not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Award is discretionaryproposed rule only: whether, to whom and in what amount awards are made1Date not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Maximum award shareproposed rule only: of collected monetary sanctions in a covered or related action, all whistleblowers together30%Date not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Minimum award shareproposed rule only: of collected monetary sanctions in a covered or related action, all whistleblowers together10%Date not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifyproposed rule only: monetary sanctions in a covered action (must exceed); actions on the same facts may be combinedUSD 1,000,000Date not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimproposed rule only: award application after a notice of covered action90 daysDate not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimproposed rule only: award application for a related action, after the notice of covered action or the related action's final order180 daysDate not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimproposed rule only: appeal of a final determination (other than the amount) to a US court of appeals30 daysDate not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimproposed rule only: minimum time to respond to a preliminary determination30 daysDate not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimproposed rule only: minimum wait before compliance or internal audit personnel may report information obtained from internal programmes120 daysDate not stated · FinCEN 2026United States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
Timeline (4)
- Whistleblower NPRM published1 Apr 2026Rule changeUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- AML Whistleblower Improvement Act29 Dec 2022LegalUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- FinCEN starts receiving whistleblower tipsMay 2021LaunchUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
- Anti-Money Laundering Act of 2020 rewrites the BSA whistleblower provision1 Jan 2021LegalUnited States · FinCEN Whistleblower Program
About the document
What it covers Proposed rules for the AML/sanctions whistleblower programme; Table 3 and Table 4 give tips received (new and supplemental) and award applications by calendar year 2021-2024 with a 2025 projection; cost estimates.
Notes Federal Register document 2026-06271, RIN 1506-AB57. Tables 3 and 4 (PDF pp. 24-25) are images, so their figures were read from the rendered page and will not be found by text search. Locations give the PDF page and the Federal Register page.
Source id usa-fincen-wb-nprm-2026 · accessed 3 Oct 2026