Source document
NHTSA Makes Its First Ever Whistleblower Award (press release)
Has everything in it been taken?
CompleteReviewed 8 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Everything in it that belongs in the tables has been taken.
What the document holds
NHTSA press release, 9 Nov 2021 (Wayback copy): first whistleblower award, more than $24 million, the legal maximum of the $81 million collected in cash from Hyundai and Kia; November 2020 consent orders over untimely recalls of over 1.6 million Theta II vehicles, combined penalties $210 million; statutory maximum 30 percent and $1 million threshold; contact details; webpage launched earlier in 2021. The case and the event were already recorded (twice each from this source: cases c-2fe1a61a52 and c-acde6dec05, events e-c85947ecd9 and e-2dcf91fe11, apparently duplicates). Added the two rules. The recall count (1.6 million vehicles) is out of scope.
What it supports
6 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
Cases and awards (2)
Reward rules (2)
- Maximum award sharecollected monetary sanctions (press release)30%Date not stated · NHTSA 2021United States · NHTSA Whistleblower Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifypenalties in the action (press release: "more than one million dollars")USD 1,000,000Date not stated · NHTSA 2021United States · NHTSA Whistleblower Program
About the document
What it covers First NHTSA award: more than $24 million, 30 percent of $81 million collected from Hyundai and Kia; combined penalties $210 million.
Notes nhtsa.gov returns HTTP 403 to automated requests; the stored copy is the Wayback Machine capture of 2 Jan 2023 (no bot check bypassed).
Source id usa-nhtsa-pr-first-wb-award-2021 · accessed 3 Oct 2026