Source document
SEC's Whistleblower Program: Additional Actions Are Needed To Better Prepare for Future Program Growth, Increase Efficiencies, and Enhance Program Management (Report No. 575)
Has everything in it been taken?
PartialReviewed 8 Oct 2026
Reviewed. Some of what it contains has knowingly not been taken yet.
What is left
Two programme numbers have no indicator and are not recorded: 47 outreach engagements FY2017-FY2021 (PDF pp. 26-27); 438 claims packages with at least one claimant FY2017-FY2021 (PDF pp. 12, 34). Record them if indicators for outreach events and NoCAs with claimants are added. Audit-sample control-test shares (51%, 13%, 96%, 41%) and the $159,000 data error are audit findings, deliberately not recorded.
What the document holds
SEC Office of Inspector General audit report No. 575, 19 Dec 2022 (43 pp.; management comments pp. 39-42 are images, read by OCR): SEC whistleblower programme growth and controls, FY2017-FY2021. Contains: cumulative figures (sanctions ordered $6.3 billion, more than $1.5 billion returned to investors, more than $1.3 billion awarded to over 300 individuals); Table 1 (tips, claims, individuals awarded and amount awarded per FY 2017-2021 with totals); Figure 2 (tips FY2011-2021); Figure 3 (days from NoCA close to draft declaration and total processing time, before/after May 2019); Figure 4 (claims received vs processed FY2017-2021); backlog (299 old claims processed FY2020-21, 151 still open Sept 2022); OWB staff (about 16 in FY2017, at least 25 in FY2021); rules (threshold, 10-30%, $5m max-award presumption, 90-day claim deadline, 30/60/30-day steps, $300m fund replenishment); rule-amendment dates; hotline (15,087 voicemails FY2017-21; over 30,000 calls returned since 2011); 98 Final Orders in FY2021; one award of about $500,000; audit-sample control findings and eight recommendations. Tables checked: Table 1 columns and Figure 4 add to their totals; 230+299 = FY2020+FY2021 processed. Also added: 89% use of the max-award presumption (relayed, indicator proposed by usa9). Not recorded: shares of the 29-package audit sample (51% of time on declarations, 13% approved with most CRS members absent, 96% adopted unchanged, 41% delayed 122-852 days), 47 outreach engagements, 438 claims packages in scope, hotline timeliness splits beyond the note, 14 late Final Order postings, the $159,000 data-entry error.
What it supports
74 rows on this site come from this document. Each one opens with the page and the exact words.
58 numbers1 case10 rules5 events
Other documents give different figures in 7 cases involving this one. Both are kept.
Numbers (58)
- Award claims received245 claimsFY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received334 claimsFY2020 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received241 claimsFY2019 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received196 claimsFY2018 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received1,244 claimsFY2017-FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Award claims received228 claimsFY2017 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)USD 564,000,000FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)USD 175,000,000FY2020 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)USD 60,000,000FY2019 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)USD 168,000,000FY2018 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)USD 1,017,000,000FY2017-FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)USD 50,000,000FY2017 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Awards paid (amount)Limit: USD 1.3 billion2011 to 2022-09 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closed320 claimsFY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closedItem: Final orders98 final ordersFY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closedItem: Noca posted 3 to 10 years earlier299 claimsFY2020-FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closedItem: Recent claims230 claimsFY2020-FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closed209 claimsFY2020 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closed86 claimsFY2019 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closed37 claimsFY2018 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closed703 claimsFY2017-FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Claims closed51 claimsFY2017 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded108 personsFY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded39 personsFY2020 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded8 personsFY2019 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded13 personsFY2018 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded180 personsFY2017-FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awarded12 personsFY2017 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Individuals awardedLimit: 300 persons2011 to 2022-09 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Open claims (inventory)Item: Noca posted 3 to 9 years earlier151 claims2022-09 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- People or calls contacting the authorityChannel: Helpline15,087 callsFY2017-FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- People or calls contacting the authorityChannel: HelplineLimit: 30,000 calls2011-05 to 2022-12 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Sanctions ordered in whistleblower casesUSD 6.3 billion2011-08 to 2022-09 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Sanctions ordered in whistleblower casesItem: Returned to investorsLimit: USD 1.5 billion2011-08 to 2022-09 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Share of eligible awards given the maximum-award presumption89%2020-12-07 to FY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Reported by othersUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Staff of a whistleblower officeLimit: 25 personsFY2021 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Staff of a whistleblower office16 personsFY2017 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Time to decide a claimItem: Request to draft declaration · Scope: Oig sample58 daysOIG sample, NoCAs posted after May 2019 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Time to decide a claimItem: Oig sample1,170 daysOIG sample, NoCAs closed before May 2019 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Time to decide a claimItem: Oig sample471 daysOIG sample, NoCAs closed after May 2019 · SEC Inspector General 2022Final figureUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
Showing 40 of 58. See all 58 in the table
Reward rules (10)
- Amount covered by the presumption of the maximum awardpresumption of the maximum 30% award when 30% of collected sanctions would be $5 million or less (no negative factors; Rule 21F-6(c))USD 5,000,000Since 7 Dec 2020 · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Award is discretionaryamount of the award (within 10-30%)YesSince 21 Jul 2010 · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Fund balance above which sanctions are not depositedInvestor Protection Fund balance below which it is replenished from collected sanctionsUSD 300,000,000Since 21 Jul 2010 · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Maximum award sharetotal monetary sanctions collected30%Since 21 Jul 2010 · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum award sharetotal monetary sanctions collected10%Since 21 Jul 2010 · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Minimum sanctions or amount collected to qualifymonetary sanctions in a successful Commission enforcement action (must total more than)USD 1,000,000Since 21 Jul 2010 · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimaward claim (Form WB-APP) after a Notice of Covered Action is posted90 daysSince 12 Aug 2011 · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimrequest for the record after a Preliminary Determination30 daysDate not stated · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimrequest for reconsideration after the Preliminary Determination (or after the record is made available)60 daysDate not stated · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- Time limit to file a claimappeal of a denial in a Final Order to a US court of appeals30 daysDate not stated · SEC Inspector General 2022United States · SEC Whistleblower Program
Timeline (5)
- SEC Inspector General audit of the whistleblower programme (Report No. 575)19 Dec 2022LegalUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- 2022 whistleblower rule amendments take effect3 Oct 2022Rule changeUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- OWB launches a modernized claims tracking systemJan 2022ContextUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- 2020 whistleblower rule amendments take effect7 Dec 2020Rule changeUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
- SEC establishes the Office of the Whistleblower25 May 2011LaunchUnited States · SEC Whistleblower Program
About the document
What it covers Audit of the SEC whistleblower programme FY2017-2021: claims received, processing times, control findings
Notes Redacted public version, obtained from oversight.gov (sec.gov copy not downloadable).
Source id usa-sec-oig-575-2022 · accessed 3 Oct 2026